loading..
   English
17:43

Numbering of rows in accordance with the order of values of a primary key page 1

Of course, rows should be numbered in accordance with some order. Let this order to be set by the primary key column, that is in order of increase (or decrease) of values in this column. Let us suppose for distinctness that we must renumber models in the table Product, where the model number is a primary key. The important thing is that values of primary key can't contain duplicates and NULL values, because of which there's a principled possibility to set one-to-one accordance between the number of the model and number of the row in order of sorting the models.

First, let's consider the following query:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT P1.model, P2.model
  2. FROM Product P1 JOIN
  3. Product P2 ON P1.model <= P2.model;

Here the joining of two identical tables on the inequality P1.model <= P2.model is performing, consequently each model from the second table (P2.model) will join only with the models from the first table (P1.model), numbers of which are less or equal the number of this model. Consequently we'll get that the model with minimal number (1121) will be present in the second row of resulting set only once, as it less or equal only to itself . On the other end will be the model with maximal number, as any model is less or equal to it. Hence, the model with maximal number will match with every model, and number of such matches is equal to overall number of models in the table Product.

It's clearly that this number of each model occurring in the second row of resulting set is exactly an ordinal number of the model in sorting models ascending.

Thus, to solve our task of numbering it's enough to count models in the right row, that is easily can be done by grouping and using aggregate function COUNT:

Solution 8.2.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT COUNT(*) no, P2.model
  2. FROM Product P1 JOIN
  3. Product P2 ON P1.model <= P2.model
  4. GROUP BY P2.model;

Here's the result of execution of this query:

no model
1 1121
2 1232
3 1233
4 1260
5 1276
6 1288
7 1298
8 1321
9 1401
10 1408
11 1433
12 1434
13 1750
14 1752
15 2112
16 2113

In order to number in inverse order it's enough to change the sign of inequality to the opposite.

If DBMS that you use supports ranking functions, the numbering of rows can be done absolutely simply:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY model) no, model
  2. FROM Product;

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
21:38
листать

Нумерация строк в соответствии с порядком, заданном значениями первичного ключа стр. 1

Естественно, нумероваться строки должны в соответствии с некоторым порядком. Пусть этот порядок задается столбцом первичного ключа, то есть в порядке возрастания (или убывания) значений в этом единственном столбце. Для определенности предположим, что нам нужно перенумеровать модели в таблице Product, где номер модели как раз является первичным ключом. Существенным здесь является то, значения первичного ключа не содержат дубликатов и NULL-значений, в результате чего имеется принципиальная возможность установить однозначное соответствие между номером модели и номером строки в заданном порядке сортировки моделей.

Рассмотрим сначала следующий запрос:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT P1.model, P2.model
  2. FROM Product P1 JOIN
  3. Product P2 ON P1.model <= P2.model;

Здесь выполняется соединение двух идентичных таблиц по неравенству P1.model <= P2.model, в результате чего каждая модель из второй таблицы (P2.model) будет соединяться только с теми моделями из первой таблицы (P1.model), номера которых меньше или равны номеру этой модели. В результате получим, например, что модель с минимальным номером (1121) будет присутствовать во втором столбце результирующего набора только один раз, так как она меньше или равна только самой себе. На другом конце будет находиться модель с максимальным номером, так как любая модель будет меньше или равна ей. Следовательно, модель с максимальным номером будет сочетаться с каждой моделью, и число таких сочетаний будет равно общему числу моделей в таблице Product.

Из сказанного выше ясно, что это количество раз, которое каждая из моделей встречается во втором столбце результирующего набора как раз и будет порядковым номером модели при сортировке моделей по возрастанию.

Таким образом, чтобы решить нашу задачу нумерации достаточно пересчитать модели в правом столбце, что нетрудно сделать при помощи группировки и использования агрегатной функции COUNT:

Решение 8.2.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT COUNT(*) no, P2.model
  2. FROM Product P1 JOIN
  3. Product P2 ON P1.model <= P2.model
  4. GROUP BY P2.model;

Не будем экономить место и представим результат выполнения этого запроса:

no model
1 1121
2 1232
3 1233
4 1260
5 1276
6 1288
7 1298
8 1321
9 1401
10 1408
11 1433
12 1434
13 1750
14 1752
15 2112
16 2113

Для нумерации в обратном порядке достаточно поменять знак неравенства на противоположный.

Если ваша СУБД поддерживает ранжирующие функции, то пронумеровать строки можно совсем просто:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY model) no, model
  2. FROM Product;

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
сегодня
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100