loading..
   English
23:28

Numbering rows when there are duplicates in the results column

According to the relational theory a table can't have identical rows. And though realizations allow creating tables without a primary key and as a result allow identical rows this sort of situation shows a mistake in planning. Also, a table without a primary key or unique index is not renewable. The last conclusion is quite reasonable because the system has no information as to which of the duplicates to choose.

So, speaking of duplicates, we mean duplicates in the resulting set whose appearance can be caused by the complete or partial absence (in the case of a compound key) of the primary key in the resulting set.

To illustrate, let's examine the following query

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT id_psg
  2. FROM pass_in_trip;
which will return the numbers of passengers who took a flight. As one passenger can take several flights we get duplicates here. But this passenger can't take the same flight on the same day more than once and that is regulated by the appropriate primary key - {trip_no, date, id_psg}.

So we need to enumerate the passengers who may duplicate. Let's first define the order in which it should be done. Let this order be based on three columns flight date, passenger identifier and the flight number (in ascending order).

To reduce this task to the one we've discussed previously (this is possible because three mentioned columns form the primary key) let's construct a column that would unite information from the listed columns. As the columns have different data types we'll convert them to a symbolical representation and perform concatenation.

For this we need to define the number of characters. There is no time mentioned in the flight date so 11 symbols are enough. The flight number is a 4-character number everywhere. Only the passenger identifier remains. Based on the database we have, we'll use 2 symbols -- this does not in any way detriment from the general approach. However, for the sorting to be performed correctly, we need to add a zero before the actual number for the single-digit passengers, like 01, 09, etc. Otherwise, passenger number 2 will be placed after passenger number 10, for example. Let's perform the appropriate conversions.

Transformations 8.2.2

  1. Date: CAST(date AS CHAR(11))
  2. Trip: CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4))
  3. Passenger ID: RIGHT('00'+CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)),2).

In the last conversion (2) I used the non-standard RIGHT function (SQL Server), which substracts from a string a defined number of symbols starting from the right. Of course the SUBSTRING function could be used but this one is shorter and, besides, other commercial products should have analogous improvements on the standard. Combining these expressions in the indicated order we get a unique column which will be used to numerate the passengers according to increment (decrement) of values in this column. Using this column we can utilize solution 8.2.1. Our final result will be

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT COUNT(*) num, P2.id_psg
  2. FROM (SELECT *, CAST(date AS CHAR(11)) +
  3. RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2)+
  4. CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4)) dit
  5. FROM Pass_in_trip
  6. ) P1 JOIN
  7. (SELECT *, CAST(date AS CHAR(11)) +
  8. RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2)+
  9. CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4)) dit
  10. FROM pass_in_trip
  11. ) P2 ON P1.dit <= P2.dit
  12. GROUP BY P2.dit, P2.id_psg
  13. ORDER BY 1;

For numbering in a different order just concatenate the transformations 8.2.2 in a different sequence. For example, to number passengers in the sequence of their identification numbers the first item should be

  1. RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2).

In this example even more evidently, than that for the solution 8.2.1, the advantages of ranking functions are demonstrated. It is hard to imagine more simple solution than that with using ROW_NUMBER function:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY date, id_psg, trip_no) num, id_psg
  2. FROM Pass_in_trip
  3. ORDER BY num;

Suggested exercises: 47

Bookmark and Share
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
03:42
листать

Нумерация строк при наличии дубликатов в результирующем столбце

Согласно реляционной теории в таблице не может быть одинаковых строк. И хотя реализации допускают построение таблиц, не имеющих первичного ключа, и, как следствие, допускающих наличие одинаковых строк, следует, на наш взгляд, отнести эту ситуацию к ошибкам в проектировании. Кроме того, таблица, не имеющая первичного ключа или уникального индекса, не является обновляемой. Последнее заключение вполне естественно, так как система не имеет информации о том, какой из дубликатов предпочесть.

Поэтому, говоря о дубликатах, мы имеем в виду дубликаты в результирующем наборе, появление которых может быть обусловлено тем, что первичный ключ весь или частично (в случае составного ключа) отсутствует в результирующем наборе.

Чтобы пояснить сказанное, рассмотрим следующий запрос

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT id_psg
  2. FROM pass_in_trip;
который вернет номера пассажиров, совершавших полеты, зафиксированные в базе данных. Поскольку один и тот же пассажир может совершить несколько рейсов, мы получаем здесь дубликаты. Однако ни один пассажир не может в один и тот же день более одного раза полететь одним и тем же рейсом, что регламентируется соответствующим первичным ключом — {trip_no, date, id_psg}.

Итак, нам нужно перенумеровать пассажиров, которые могут повторяться. Зададимся для начала порядком, в котором их нужно перенумеровать. Пусть этот порядок соответствует сортировке по трем полям — дате полета, идентификатору пассажира и номеру рейса (по возрастанию).

Чтобы свести задачу к ранее рассмотренной (а это возможно, так как три перечисленных поля представляют собой первичный ключ), сконструируем столбец, который объединял бы информацию из перечисленных полей. Поскольку поля имеют разные типы данных, приведем их к единому символьному представлению и выполним конкатенацию.

При этом нам нужно определиться с количеством символов. Поскольку в представлении даты вылета отсутствует время, ограничимся 11 символами. Номер рейса везде представлен четырехсимвольным числом. Остается идентификатор пассажира. В соответствии с имеющейся базой данных ограничимся двумя символами, что не принижает общности подхода.

Однако для правильности сортировки нужно «односимвольных» пассажиров записывать с лидирующим нулем — 01, 09 и т. д. Иначе пассажир с номером 10 будет предшествовать, скажем, пассажиру с идентификационным номером 2. Выполним соответствующие преобразования:

Преобразования 8.2.2

  1. Дата: CAST(date AS CHAR(11))
  2. Номер рейса: CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4))
  3. Идентификатор пассажира: RIGHT('00'+CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)),2).

В последнем преобразовании идентификатора пассажира мы использовали нестандартную функцию RIGHT (SQL Server), которая извлекает из строки указанное количество символов справа. Можно было бы применить функцию SUBSTRING, однако так получается короче и, кроме того, наверняка в других коммерческих продуктах имеются аналогичные «расширения» стандарта. Соединяя эти выражения в указанном порядке, мы получим уникальный столбец, который и будет служить для нумерации пассажиров в соответствии с возрастанием (убыванием) значений в этом столбце. Используя этот столбец, мы можем воспользоваться решением 8.2.1. Окончательно получим:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT COUNT(*) num, P2.id_psg
  2. FROM (SELECT *, CAST(date AS CHAR(11)) +
  3.                 RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2)+
  4.                 CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4)) dit
  5.        FROM Pass_in_trip
  6.       ) P1 JOIN
  7.       (SELECT *, CAST(date AS CHAR(11)) +
  8.                  RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2)+
  9.                  CAST(trip_no AS CHAR(4)) dit
  10.        FROM pass_in_trip
  11.        ) P2 ON P1.dit <= P2.dit
  12. GROUP BY P2.dit, P2.id_psg
  13. ORDER BY 1;

Для нумерации в другом порядке достаточно конкатенировать преобразования 8.2.2 в другой последовательности. Например, чтобы пронумеровать пассажиров в порядке их идентификационных номеров, первым слагаемым должно быть:

  1. RIGHT('00' + CAST(id_psg AS VARCHAR(2)), 2).

В этом примере еще более наглядно, чем для решения 8.2.1, проявляются достоинства ранжирующих функций. Вот как просто и понятно можно переписать решение нашей задачи с их использованием:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER(ORDER BY date, id_psg, trip_no) num, id_psg
  2. FROM Pass_in_trip
  3. ORDER BY num;

Рекомендуемые упражнения: 47


Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100