loading..
   English
18:23

About generation of number sequences in SQL Server page 3

D. Iterative calculation of square root

Square root from A number is a solution of equation x * x = A. In the terms of previous point it is a root of equation g(x) = 0, where g(x) = x * x - a. The calculation of this numbers isn`t difficult. In  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL we may use SQRT(a) or POWER(a, 0.5) for it. Let`s exemplify the method, nevertheless, which is useful in the case when there is no standard function but the contracting mapping is known.

The iterative analytical algorithm for calculation of square root is well known from basic course of mathematics and you can see it here.

It may be written in the form of contracting mapping x = f(x), where

f(x)=1/2*(x+a/x).

 It`s easy to get evidence in that the equation x = 1/2 * (x+a/x) is equivalent to equation x*x = a for x <> 0. The reader with mathematical education may try to prove that this transformation is really contracting, and therefore may be used for iteration process of finding equation`s root.

For illustration of this algorithm let`s note an example of SQL-code for calculation the square root from a = 3:

Console
Execute
  1. WITH Square3(a,b,c) AS
  2. (
  3. SELECT 1, CAST(3 AS float(53)), CAST(3 AS float(53))
  4. UNION ALL
  5. SELECT a+1, 1./2.*(b+3/b), 1./6.*3*(c+3./c) FROM Square3 WHERE a < 7
  6. )
  7. SELECT iteration=a, Exact=sqrt(CAST(3 AS float(53))), Res1=b, Res2=c
  8. FROM Square3;

Here the [a] column is introduced for iteration`s number, the [b] and [c] columns calculate square root by two arithmetically equivalent methods. Iterations do not use built-in operations such as SQRT or POWER, but for control we outputted the value of square root which is calculated by using standard function in the [exact] column.

iteration Exact Res1 Res2
1 1.7320508075688772 3.0 3.0
2 1.7320508075688772 2.0 1.999992
3 1.7320508075688772 1.75 1.7499920000160001
4 1.7320508075688772 1.7321428571428572 1.7321358469571777
5 1.7320508075688772 1.7320508100147274 1.7320438814531474
6 1.7320508075688772 1.7320508075688772 1.7320438793794952
7 1.7320508075688772 1.7320508075688772 1.7320438793795034

It is evident that the 6th iteration calculations in the third column [Res1] had leaded to coincidence with value of built-in function SQRT(3) in [Exact] column in the FLOAT(53) precision limits. Calculations in the fourth column [Res2] had not. What`s the difference? It is not so obvious, but the reason in that the expression (1./6.) calculates with big mistake as operands are not casted to the 8-byte representation for real numbers (double precision). It affects on all calculations and we have only 5-6 valid significant digits in the result that is corresponds to the theory of calculations with single precision arithmetic.


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/to/OSHBUAH/
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
01:45
листать

О генерации числовых последовательностей в SQL Server стр. 3

D. Итерационное вычисление квадратного корня

Квадратный корень из числа a – это решение уравнения x*x = a. В терминах предыдущего пункта это корень уравнения g(x) = 0, где функция g(x) = x*x - a. Вычисление этих чисел SQL-запросом труда не представляет - есть встроенная функция sqrt(a) или power(a,0.5). Тем не менее, проиллюстрируем на примере нахождения квадратного корня  подход, который может использоваться в случаях, когда нет соответствующей встроенной функции, а сжимающее отображение известно.

Итерационный аналитический алгоритм для вычисления квадратного корня известен из курса школьной математики, и изложен, например, здесь.

Его можно записать в виде сжимающего отображения x = f(x), где

f(x)=1/2*(x+a/x).
 Легко убедиться в том, что уравнение x = 1/2*(x + a/x) эквивалентно  уравнению x*x = a для x <> 0. Читатель с математическим образованием может попытаться доказать, что это преобразование действительно сжимающее, и, следовательно, может быть использовано для итерационного процесса нахождения корня уравнения.
Для иллюстрации алгоритма приведем пример sql-кода для вычисления квадратного корня из числа a = 3:
Консоль
Выполнить
  1. WITH Square3(a,b,c) AS
  2. (
  3.  SELECT 1, CAST(3 AS float(53)), CAST(3 AS float(53))
  4.  UNION ALL
  5.  SELECT a+1, 1./2.*(b+3/b), 1./6.*3*(c+3./c) FROM Square3 WHERE a < 7
  6. )
  7. SELECT iteration=a, Exact=sqrt(CAST(3 AS float(53))), Res1=b, Res2=c
  8. FROM Square3;

Здесь столбец [a] введен для вывода номера итерации, столбцы [b] и [c] вычисляют квадратный корень двумя арифметически эквивалентными способами. Итерации не используют встроенные операции sqrt или power, но для контроля мы вывели в колонке exact значение квадратного корня, вычисленное с помощью встроенной функции.

iteration    Exact    Res1    Res2
1    1.7320508075688772    3.0    3.0
2    1.7320508075688772    2.0    1.999992
3    1.7320508075688772    1.75   1.7499920000160001
4    1.7320508075688772    1.7321428571428572    1.7321358469571777
5    1.7320508075688772    1.7320508100147274    1.7320438814531474
6    1.7320508075688772    1.7320508075688772    1.7320438793794952
7    1.7320508075688772    1.7320508075688772    1.7320438793795034

Видно, что уже на 6-й итерации вычисления в третьем столбце [Res1] привели к совпадению со  значением встроенной функции [Exact] в пределах точности FLOAT(53) для  квадратного корня из трех. Вычисления в четвертом столбце [Res2]  – нет. В чем же причина таких различий? Не сразу очевидно, но причина в том, что выражение (1./6.) вычисляется с большой ошибкой, так как операнды не приведены к 8-байтовому представлению вещественных чисел (двойная точность). Это повлияло на все вычисления, и мы получили только 5-6 правильных значащих цифр в результате, что согласуется с теорией вычислений в вещественной арифметике с одинарной точностью.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/BTC-PSBRUB-sort
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.