loading..
Русский    English
14:57

Exercise #51

Find the names of the ships having the largest amount of guns among all the ships with the same displacement (taking into account Outcomes table).

Solution 3.8.1. It is not quite optimal, and what is more, it contains an error.

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT name
  2. FROM (SELECT O.ship AS name, numGuns, displacement
  3. FROM Outcomes O INNER JOIN
  4. Classes C ON O.ship = C.class AND
  5. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  6. FROM Ships
  7. )
  8. UNION
  9. SELECT S.name AS name, numGuns, displacement
  10. FROM Ships S INNER JOIN
  11. Classes C ON S.class = C.class
  12. ) OS INNER JOIN
  13. (SELECT MAX(numGuns) AS MaxNumGuns, displacement
  14. FROM Outcomes O INNER JOIN
  15. Classes C ON O.ship = C.class AND
  16. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  17. FROM Ships
  18. )
  19. GROUP BY displacement
  20. UNION
  21. SELECT MAX(numGuns) AS MaxNumGuns, displacement
  22. FROM Ships S INNER JOIN
  23. Classes C ON S.class = C.class
  24. GROUP BY displacement
  25. ) GD ON OS.numGuns = GD.MaxNumGuns AND
  26. OS.displacement = GD.displacement;

In the FROM clause of the above solution two subqueries are joined. The first one determines names, number of guns and displacement of all the ships from the database. These ships are collected from two tables - Ships and Outcomes (leading ships). In so doing, an incorrect and redundant check for duplicates is performed:

  1. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  2. FROM Ships
  3. )

Why incorrect? Because it retains duplicates all the same, tallying up a lead ship as many times as it takes part in battles. And redundant is it, because the UNION clause will remove duplicates anyway. It proved quite useful in this case, the query, though being not optimal, yielding the result as expected against the algorythm.

The second subquery in the join statement determines the maximun number of guns for each displacement value of the available ships, and here, like we did before, these values are calculated separately for the ships from Ships and for the lead ships from Outcomes, followed by unioning.

Joining is performed across matching numbers of guns and displacements in the rows of the subqueries.

Logic of building up the solution is quite correct, but the implementation is not. To prove it, one usually resorts to a counterinstance. Putting it in other words, we will present an instance of data for which the query yields a wrong result. Well, let there be ships with 40 000 tons displacement and maximum number of guns 16 only in the Ships table, and the lead ship with 40 000 tons displacement and maximum number of guns 17 only in the Outcomes. Then the second join subquery will produce two rows:

16 40000
17 40000
since they are not duplicates, these two rows will be both present in the resulting set. Upon joining, we'll get not only the ships with maximum number of guns for a given displacement - 17, but the ships rigged with 16 guns. Can you recognize the mistake? We've come across it before: firstly join operation should be done, and then grouping.

T&S

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
06:23
листать

Упражнение 51

Найдите названия кораблей, имеющих наибольшее число орудий среди всех кораблей такого же водоизмещения (учесть корабли из таблицы Outcomes).

Решение 3.8.1. Не очень оптимальное решение и, к тому же, содержащее ошибку.

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT name
  2. FROM (SELECT O.ship AS name, numGuns, displacement
  3. FROM Outcomes O INNER JOIN
  4. Classes C ON O.ship = C.class AND
  5. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  6. FROM Ships
  7. )
  8. UNION
  9. SELECT S.name AS name, numGuns, displacement
  10. FROM Ships S INNER JOIN
  11. Classes C ON S.class = C.class
  12. ) OS INNER JOIN
  13. (SELECT MAX(numGuns) AS MaxNumGuns, displacement
  14. FROM Outcomes O INNER JOIN
  15. Classes C ON O.ship = C.class AND
  16. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  17. FROM Ships
  18. )
  19. GROUP BY displacement
  20. UNION
  21. SELECT MAX(numGuns) AS MaxNumGuns, displacement
  22. FROM Ships S INNER JOIN
  23. Classes C ON S.class = C.class
  24. GROUP BY displacement
  25. ) GD ON OS.numGuns = GD.MaxNumGuns AND
  26. OS.displacement = GD.displacement;

В предложении FROM данного решения соединяются два подзапроса. В первом из них определяется имя, число орудий и водоизмещение всех имеющихся в базе данных кораблей. Эти корабли собираются по двум таблицам — Ships и Outcomes (головные корабли). При этом выполняется неправильная и излишняя проверка на дубликаты:

  1. O.ship NOT IN (SELECT name
  2. FROM Ships
  3. )

Почему неправильная? Да потому, что она все равно оставляет дубликаты, учитывая головной корабль столько раз, сколько раз он участвовал в сражениях. Ну, а излишней она является потому, что предложение UNION все равно устранит дубликаты. Это в данном случае оказалось совсем нелишним, в результате чего подзапрос, хотя и не оптимальный, дает то, что и предполагалось по алгоритму.

Второй подзапрос в соединении определяет максимальное число орудий для каждого значения водоизмещения имеющихся кораблей, при этом опять, как и ранее, эти значения определяются отдельно для кораблей из Ships и головных кораблей из Outcomes с последующим объединением.

Соединение выполняется по совпадению числа орудий и водоизмещения в строках этих подзапросов.

Логика построения решения вполне верная; не верна реализация. Чтобы доказать это, обычно прибегают к контрпримеру. Другими словами, приведем пример данных, на котором этот запрос даст неверное решение задачи. Итак, пусть только в таблице Ships есть корабли водоизмещением 40 000 тонн с максимальным числом орудий 16, и только в таблице Outcomes имеется головной корабль водоизмещения 40 000 тонн и числом орудий 17. Тогда второй подзапрос из соединения даст нам две строки:

16 40000
17 40000
поскольку это не дубликаты, обе эти строки будут присутствовать в результирующем наборе. В результате соединения мы получим не только корабли с максимальным числом орудий для данного водоизмещения — 17, но и корабли, имеющие на вооружении 16 орудий. Узнаете ошибку? Она уже встречалась ранее: сначала нужно делать объединение, а потом группировку.

ПиР

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100