loading..
Русский    English
19:28

Exercise #53

To within two decimal digits, define the average amount of guns for the battleship classes.

I supposed there is only one problem in this task, and that is rounding. But recently I received the following solution:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT SUM(sum_g)/SUM(count_g)
  2. FROM (SELECT SUM(numGuns) AS sum_g, COUNT(*) AS count_g
  3. FROM Classes INNER JOIN
  4. Ships ON Classes.class = Ships.class
  5. WHERE type = 'bb'
  6. UNION
  7. SELECT SUM(numGuns) AS sum_g, COUNT(*) AS count_g
  8. FROM Classes INNER JOIN
  9. Outcomes ON Classes.class = Outcomes.ship
  10. WHERE type='bb'
  11. ) AS a;

It's very rich for mistakes analysis J . Let's start from the rounding. The number of guns is an integer (according to the column type, not to the logic!). That's why the sum itself will be a whole number. When dividing integers in  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server we always get an integer. And the result is achieved not by rounding but by DISCARDING the fractional part. For example, execute the following query:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT 2/3

The result will be 0, and that confirms what we've said. So, to make cosmetic improvements of this query, at least one operand should be converted to real type. As I've written in the Help at www.sql-ex.ru site, you can use implicit type conversion:

  1. SELECT SUM(sum_g)*1.0/SUM(count_g)
that is, when multiplying by a real unity the numerator becomes a real number itself.

Now, as we need to count the average by classes, at first, we shouldn't take ships into account and, second, we don't need to remember ships from the Outcomes table.

But for analyzing the mistakes let's consider the solution in its author's interpretation, that is, we'll define the average value by all linear ships from the database, and this turns out to be exercise #54. I've discussed that task but with another mistake.

So, the number of guns and amount are counted separately by ships from the Ships table and by the head ships from the Outcomes table. Then, in the main query we summarize the number of guns and the amount of ships by every table and divide the first by second to get the average value.

Let's discuss an example. Let there be 2 ships with 11 and 8 guns in the Ships table, and 1 ship with 11 guns in the Outcomes table. So we get 3 ships with 30 guns. The average value is 30/3=10. Is this correct? No, that is, it's correct only for certain cases, while we need to write a query that will be correct for any data. I see several examples to prove this.

First. What if there is no head ship that corresponds to the terms of the task in the Outcomes table? Then the second query will return: 0 ships, the number of guns is NULL. As a result of calculating the average we'll get

  1. (19 + NULL)/(2+0) = NULL
instead of 10.

Second. Let the head ship of ‘bb' class be both in the Ships and the Outcomes table, that means, it's the same ship. Then we should get 19/2 but not 30/3 as the solution presents.

Third. But what if in the previous situation on the ships the head vessel took part in battles twice? Then we'll get (19 + 22) /( 2 + 2) = 41/4 instead of our 19/2.

Fourth… Think of it yourself. That's how the checking base on the site is formed. :-)

T&S

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
11:38
листать

Упражнение 53

Определите среднее число орудий для классов линейных кораблей. Получить результат с точностью до двух десятичных знаков.

Автор полагал, что в этой задаче лишь одна проблема — округление. Однако как-то поступило следующее решение:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT SUM(sum_g)/SUM(count_g)
  2. FROM (SELECT SUM(numGuns) AS sum_g, COUNT(*) AS count_g
  3. FROM Classes INNER JOIN
  4. Ships ON Classes.class = Ships.class
  5. WHERE type = 'bb'
  6. UNION
  7. SELECT SUM(numGuns) AS sum_g, COUNT(*) AS count_g
  8. FROM Classes INNER JOIN
  9. Outcomes ON Classes.class = Outcomes.ship
  10. WHERE type='bb'
  11. ) AS a;

Богатое для анализа ошибок решение. Начнем с округления. Число орудий — целое число (по типу столбца, а не по смыслу!). Поэтому и сумма будет числом целым. При делении целых чисел в  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server всегда получается целое число. Причем результат достигается не округлением, а отбрасыванием дробной части. Выполните, например, следующий запрос

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT 2/3

Результатом будет 0, что подтверждает сказанное. Поэтому, чтобы внести косметические исправления данного запроса, нужно выполнить преобразование хотя бы одного операнда к вещественному типу. Как сказано в пункте 5.9, можно воспользоваться неявным преобразованием типа:

  1. SELECT SUM(sum_g)*1.0/SUM(count_g)
то есть при умножении на вещественную единицу числитель становится вещественным числом.

Теперь, поскольку требуется определить среднее по классам, то, во-первых, не нужно учитывать корабли, а, во-вторых, не нужно учитывать корабли из таблицы Outcomes.

Однако чтобы проанализировать допущенные ошибки, давайте рассмотрим решение в трактовке автора этого запроса, то есть определим среднее значение по всем линейным кораблям из базы данных, а это не что иное, как задача 54. Эта задача рассматривается в пункте 3.10, но там решение содержит другую ошибку.

Итак, в подзапросе подсчитывается число орудий и количество отдельно по кораблям из таблицы Ships и головным кораблям из таблицы Outcomes. Затем в основном запросе суммируется число орудий и количество кораблей, полученных по каждой таблице, и делится одно на другое, чтобы получить среднее значение.

Рассмотрим пример. Пусть в Ships есть 2 корабля с 11 и 8 орудиями, а в Outcomes — один корабль с 11 орудиями. Итого получаем 3 корабля и 30 орудий. Среднее 30/3 = 10. Правильно? Нет, то есть правильно, но не во всех случаях. Нам же нужно написать запрос, который будет верен на любых данных. Я вижу здесь несколько контрпримеров.

Первый контрпример. А если в Outcomes не будет головного корабля, отвечающего условиям задачи? Тогда второй подзапрос даст: кораблей — 0, число орудий — NULL. В результате вычисление среднего в рассматриваемом запросе даст

  1. (19 + NULL)/(2+0) = NULL
вместо 19/2.

Второй контрпример. Пусть головной корабль класса bb есть как в таблице Ships, так и в таблице Outcomes, то есть это один и тот же корабль. Тогда в результате мы должны получить не 30/3, что нам дает представленное решение, а 19/2.

Третий контрпример. А если в предыдущей ситуации по кораблям головной корабль дважды принимал участие в сражениях? Тогда мы получим вместо тех же 19/2 — (19 + 22)/(2+2) = 41/4.

Четвертый контрпример… Придумайте сами. Вот так и формируется проверочная база сайта. :-)

ПиР

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100