loading..
Русский    English
20:18

Exercise #39 page 4

Notes:

In the context of last predicate it would be desirable to remind readers, that inquiries which we analyze, have been written by visitors of SQL-EX.RU site. The made mistakes are not far-fetched, but are naturally due to process of training when the formal knowledge of the programming language is applied to the decision of specific task. Actually, this book is also written to facilitate transition from formal knowledge to practical skills.

However let's return to a wording. According to the description of a subject area, the ship can be:

  • damaged;
  • ok;
  • sunk.

That's why the condition min( result) = 'damaged' will be executed, if a ship was damaged in one of the battles  (under the natural sorting of the text strings the letter "D" goes earlier that the letters "O" and "S"). However, it doesn't quite mean that it had been damaged before it took part in the next battle that is required by the terms of the task. Here we need to appreciate the date of the battle. As concerns about MAX(result) = 'damaged', then this condition will not be executed, if the results of the battles were different; and if similar, then it will give nothing new in comparison with the first condition on minimum. 

And such a superposition of the mistakes gave the right result on the both databases. Precautions have already been taken - test data had been added, and the current solution gives the wrong result now. As it should be. 

T&S

To solve the problem on SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3 4
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
11:32
листать

Упражнение 39 стр. 4

Примечание:

В связи с последним предикатом хочется напомнить читателям, что запросы, которые мы анализируем, были написаны посетителями сайта. Допускаемые ошибки не надуманы, а являются естественным следствием процесса обучения, когда формальное знание языка программирования применяется к решению конкретных задач. Собственно, эта книга и написана для того, чтобы облегчить переход от формального знания к практическому умению.

Однако вернемся к условию. В соответствии с описанием предметной области корабль может быть:

  • поврежденным (damaged);
  • остаться невредимым (ok);
  • быть потопленным (sunk).

Поэтому условие MIN(result) = 'damaged' будет выполнено, если в одной из битв корабль был поврежден (при естественной сортировке текстовых строк буква «d» идет раньше, чем буквы «o» и «s»). Однако это совсем не означает, что поврежден он был прежде, чем принял участие в следующем сражении, что требуется по условиям задачи. Здесь нужно оценивать даты сражений. Что же касается MAX(result) = 'damaged', то это условие не будет выполняться, если результаты сражений были разные; если же они были одинаковые, то это не даст ничего нового по сравнению с первым условием на минимум.

Вот такое наложение ошибок давало правильный результат на обеих проверочных базах. Меры уже приняты: добавлены проверочные данные, на которых данное решение дает неверный результат. Как это и должно быть по логике этого запроса.

ПиР

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3 4
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100