loading..
Русский    English
10:31

Exercise #121 page 1

Define the names of all the ships in the database which were definitely launched before 1941.

Despite of complexity level of 2, the solution of this exercise have caused, apparently, the greatest difficulties. And these are not due to complexity in construction of query, but due to logic of the solution of a problem.

Until recently this task has been formulated as: «Define the names of all ships, which were launched before 1918.». It seemingly has no difference, hasn't it? Does the following decision not be a correct?

Solution 3.5.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT name AS shipName
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched < 1941;

No. As it has fairly been noticed by visitors of a site, dates of battles are not considered here in any way. Really, the ship is necessary to include into the result set, if the year of launching of the ship, which took part in the battle before 1941, is unknown. In the initial formulation of this problem where year 1918 was presented, there was possible to not care about it, as the database formally contains the information on battles of the World War II which has begun in 1939.


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3 4
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 More tags
The book was updated
yesterday
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
21:35
листать

Упражнение 121 стр. 1

Найдите названия всех тех кораблей из базы данных, о которых можно определенно сказать, что они были спущены на воду до 1941 г.

Несмотря на коэффициент сложности 2, решение этой задачи вызывало, по-видимому, наибольшие затруднения. Причем связано это не со сложностью в построении запроса, а с логикой решения задачи.

Эта задача заменила более простую задачу, которая звучала так: «Найдите названия всех кораблей из базы данных, спущенных на воду до 1918 г». Казалось бы, какая разница? Разве следующее решение не является правильным?

Решение 3.5.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT name AS shipName
  2. FROM Ships
  3. WHERE launched < 1941;

Нет. Как справедливо было замечено посетителями сайта, здесь никак не учитываются даты сражений. Действительно, если год спуска на воду корабля неизвестен, и при этом он участвовал в сражении, которое произошло до 1941 года, то такой корабль следует включать в результат. В первоначальной формулировке этой задачи, где фигурировал 1918 год, об этом можно было не заботиться, так как формально база данных содержит информацию о сражениях второй мировой войны, которая началась в 1939 году.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3 4
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
сегодня
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100