loading..
Русский    English
17:42

SQL data manipulation language

…the language of the Zen teacher reveals ideas rather than feelings and intentions. And therefore it plays quite a different role, as compared to the casual use of the language; as the choice of  words is up to the teacher, and it works miracles in the sphere of its traditional employment, and the disciple discovers his own self, conceives himself, and thus the casual phrase becomes the key to the idea.
Hopscotch, Julio Cortazar.

This book is devoted to practical use of  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL language, i. e. primarily to the use of  SELECT statement, retrieving the data from relational database, and INSERT, UPDATE and DELETE statements, that are used for data modification. These statements make up the SQL sublanguage, which is also called Data Manipulation Language (or DML). In this «theoretical» chapter we try to focus on those syntactic constructions of the statements in question, which in the first place are in complete correspondence with SQL-92 Standard, and in the second place, are supported by practically all the commercial DBMS. It is quite clear that we also cannot ignore some of the peculiarities of their execution. It can be explained by the fact that the extensions of the Standard presupposed for each implementation quite often enable us to write a query in the more concise way, and also by the fact that some of the cases are not covered by standard and, as a rule, are determined on implementation level. As the site is devoted to  MS  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft.SQL Server 2005, the peculiarities of the implementation, which are stipulated specially, mostly refer to this particular product. When the possibility arises of doing exercises on other DBMS, this section about diversities of their implementation will be extended. In particular, this is true about the functions of string processing and the values like date/time, which are considered in Chapter 7 (Part III). It is worth mentioning, that practically all the tasks considered here and constituting the first step of the testing procedure on the site, can be completed using only standard means. It can be proved by numerous visitors of the site, who in their work use various DBMS from FoxPro to Oracle.

Description of the syntax of operators of the language is substantiated with examples of the queries that address training database, brief description of which is provided in Appendix*1. Besides, many paragraphs are supplied with the list of exercises, recommended for solution of the problems intended for revising the corresponding material. The texts of the problems, that constitute the initial step of the testing procedure on the site and some of which are analyzed in the book, are given in Appendix*2.

Bookmark and Share
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Content:

Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
yesterday
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
06:32
листать

Язык манипуляции данными в SQL

…язык учителя дзэн передает идеи, а не чувства или намерения. И поэтому он играет не ту роль, какую обычно играет язык; поскольку выбор фраз исходит от учителя, то чудо свершается в той области, которая ему присуща, и ученик раскрывается сам себе, понимает себя, и таким образом обычная фраза становится ключом.
Х. Кортасар. Игра в классики.

Данная книга ориентирована на практическое применение языка  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL, то есть в первую очередь на использование оператора SELECT, реализующего выборку данных из реляционных СУБД, и операторов INSERT, UPDATE и DELETE, которые служат для модификации данных. Эти операторы и составляют тот подъязык SQL, который называется языком манипуляции данными (или DML — Data Manipulation Language). В этой «теоретической» части мы старались придерживаться тех синтаксических конструкций рассматриваемых операторов, которые, во-первых, полностью соответствуют стандарту SQL-92, и, во-вторых, поддерживаются практически всеми коммерческими СУБД. Естественно, нельзя было обойти вниманием и некоторые особенности реализации. Это обусловлено тем, что имеющиеся в каждой реализации расширения стандарта позволяют зачастую более компактно написать запрос, а также тем, что некоторые моменты не стандартизируются и, как правило, опускаются на уровень реализации. Поскольку сайт работает с MS  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft.SQL Server 2005, то особенности реализации, которые оговариваются отдельно, относятся по большей части именно к этому продукту. В частности, это касается функций работы со строками и значениями типа даты/времени, которые рассматриваются в главе 7 (часть III). Следует отметить, что практически все рассматриваемые здесь задачи, составляющие первый обучающий этап тестирования на сайте, можно решить, пользуясь исключительно стандартными средствами. Это могут подтвердить многочисленные посетители сайта, которые в своей профессиональной деятельности используют различные СУБД от FoxPro до Oracle.

Описание синтаксиса операторов языка сопровождается многочисленными примерами запросов, которые адресуются к учебным базам данных, краткое описание которых приводится в Приложении*1. Кроме того, многие параграфы сопровождаются перечнем упражнений, рекомендуемых к решению для закрепления соответствующего материала. Формулировки всех заданий, которые составляют первый этап тестирования на сайте и которые выборочно разбираются в книге, приведены в Приложении*2.

Bookmark and Share
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Содержание:

Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100