loading..
Русский    English
18:41

Exercise #57 page 1

For every class that has not less than 3 ships in the database determine the number of ships of this class sunk in the battles, if any. Output: class and the number of the sunken ships.

This exercise is somewhat similar to the exercise 56, i.e. here it is possible to suppose the same mistakes in calculation of the number of sunken ships. However the situation is also aggravated with definition of the total number of the ships in a class. Let's consider the solution that the check system doesn't accept. 

Exercise 3.13.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT c.class, SUM(outc)
  2. FROM Classes c LEFT JOIN
  3. Ships s ON c.class = s.class LEFT JOIN
  4. (SELECT ship, 1 outc
  5. FROM Outcomes
  6. WHERE result = 'sunk') o ON s.name = o.ship OR
  7. c.class = o.ship
  8. GROUP BY c.class
  9. HAVING COUNT(*) > 2 AND
  10. SUM(outc) IS NOT NULL;

The first left join gives all classes repeating so many times as the number of ships available in the Ships table. If any class doesn't have ships in this table, it will be noted one time, and it gives us an opportunity to consider the leading ships of the class in the Outcomes table, if any. 

Next, one left join is being worked out with the set of sunken ships on the predicate

  1. ON s.name = o.ship OR c.class = o.ship

In the calculating column 1 is being inserted, if the name of the sunken ship coincides either with the name of the ship, or with the name of the class from the set had been got earlier. So, here we do try to consider the leading (head) ships.

Finally, the grouping by the classes with selection by the number of ships (rows) in the class is being worked out, and the sum of the sunken ships (units in the column “outs”) is being calculated. Author of this solution offers the rational way to calculate in one grouping both the total number of ships, and the quantity of the sunken ships in the class. The predicate, 

  1. SUM(outc) IS NOT NULL
in accordance with the terms of the task, removes from the result such classes that don't have any sunken ships. 

Those who read the analysis of the previous tasks, have already guessed, what the problem is. That's right, the problem is in the predicate of the second join. But not only in this.
в этом.

Let's consider the next variant of data. Let for some class class_N in the Ships table we have two ships: ship_1 and ship_2. Besides, in the Outcomes table there is the sunken ship ship_1 and survived the leading ship – class_N.

The first join gives: 

Class Ship
Class_N ship_1
Class_N ship_2

We work out the second join: 

Class ship outs
Class_N ship_1 1
Class_N ship_2 NULL

In the result this class will not get into the resulting set at all, because the condition COUNT(*) > 2 won't be held, but actually there are three ships. The reason of the mistake lies in the fact that we perform the join only on the sunken ships, simultaneously counting the total number of ships.

Now let's change a little data in the example. And let the leading ship class_N to be also sunk. Then the result of the join is: 

class ship outs
class_N ship_1 1
class_N ship_2 NULL
class_N ship_1 1
class_N ship_2 1

The last two rows will be got in the result of joining the row of the sunken leading ship, as the predicate c.class=o.ship gives “true”. So, instead of one row for the leading ship we get a row for every ship of the class from the Ships table. Totally, instead of 

class outs
class_N 2
we have

class outs
class_N 3

You may try to correct this solution or to use another way on the basis of the inner join and union.

As it will seem surprising, but three absolutely different solutions presented below contain the same mistake, at least, they return the same result on the checking database of a site.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:52
листать

Упражнение 57 стр. 1

Для классов, имеющих потери в виде потопленных кораблей и не менее 3 кораблей в базе данных, вывести имя класса и число потопленных кораблей.

Эта задача в чем-то подобна задаче 56, то есть здесь можно допускать те же ошибки в подсчете потопленных кораблей. Однако ситуация усугубляется еще и определением общего числа кораблей в классе.

Решение 3.13.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT c.class, SUM(outc)
  2. FROM Classes c LEFT JOIN
  3. Ships s ON c.class = s.class LEFT JOIN
  4. (SELECT ship, 1 outc
  5. FROM Outcomes
  6. WHERE result = 'sunk') o ON s.name = o.ship OR
  7. c.class = o.ship
  8. GROUP BY c.class
  9. HAVING COUNT(*) > 2 AND
  10. SUM(outc) IS NOT NULL;

Первое левое соединение дает все классы, повторяющиеся столько раз, сколько имеется кораблей в таблице Ships. Если некий класс не имеет кораблей в этой таблице, то он будет упомянут один раз, и это дает нам возможность учесть головные корабли класса в таблице Outcomes, если таковые имеются.

Далее выполняется еще одно левое соединение с набором потопленных кораблей по предикату

  1. ON s.name = o.ship OR c.class = o.ship

В вычисляемый столбец заносится 1, если имя потопленного корабля совпадает либо с именем корабля, либо с именем класса из полученного ранее набора. Таким образом, мы здесь и пытаемся учесть головные корабли.

Наконец, выполняется группировка по классам с отбором по числу кораблей (строк) класса и подсчитывается сумма потопленных кораблей (единиц в столбце outs). Автор решения предлагает рациональный способ вычислить в одной группировке и общее число кораблей, и количество потопленных кораблей в классе. Предикат:

  1. SUM(outc) IS NOT NULL

в соответствии с условием задачи убирает из результата классы, не имеющие потопленных кораблей.

Те, кто внимательно читал анализ предыдущих задач, уже догадались, в чем дело. Правильно, проблема в предикате второго соединения. Однако не только в этом.

Рассмотрим следующий вариант данных. Пусть для некоторого класса class_N в таблице Ships имеется два корабля: ship_1 и ship_2. Кроме того, в таблице Outcomes есть потопленный корабль ship_1 и оставшийся на плаву головной — class_N.

Первое соединение даст:

Class Ship
Class_N ship_1
Class_N ship_2

Выполняем второе соединение:

Class ship outs
Class_N ship_1 1
Class_N ship_2 NULL

В результате этот класс вообще не попадет в результирующий набор, так как не будет выполнено условие COUNT(*) > 2, хотя на самом деле корабля 3. Причина ошибки заключается в том, что мы выполняем соединение только по потопленным кораблям, одновременно подсчитывая общее число кораблей.

Давайте теперь немного изменим данные в примере. Пусть и головной корабль class_N тоже потоплен. Тогда результатом соединения будет:

class ship outs
class_N ship_1 1
class_N ship_2 NULL
class_N ship_1 1
class_N ship_2 1

Последние две строки будут получены в результате соединения со строкой потопленного головного корабля, так как предикат c.class = o.ship дает «истину». Таким образом, мы вместо одной строки для головного корабля получаем по строке на каждый корабль класса из таблицы Ships. Итого, вместо

class outs
class_N 2

имеем

class outs
class_N 3

Вы можете попытаться исправить это решение или использовать другой подход на базе внутреннего соединения и объединения.

Как это не покажется удивительным, но ниже приведены три совсем разных решения, которые содержат одну и ту же ошибку, по крайней мере, они возвращают один и тот же результат на проверочной базе сайта.

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100