loading..
Русский    English
06:31

Computer Firm Database

The database schema consists of four tables (see Figure 1.1):

  • Product(maker, model, type)
  • PC(code, model, speed, ram, hd, cd, price)
  • Laptop(code, model, speed, ram, hd, screen, price)
  • Printer(code, model, color, type, price)

The Product table contains data on the maker, model number, and type of product ('PC', 'Laptop', or 'Printer'). It is assumed that model numbers in the Product table are unique for all makers and product types. Each personal computer in the PC table is unambiguously identified by a unique code, and is additionally characterized by its model (foreign key referring to the Product table), processor speed (in MHz) – speed field, RAM capacity (in Mb) - ram, hard disk drive capacity (in Gb) – hd, CD-ROM speed (e.g, '4x') - cd, and its price. The Laptop table is similar to the PC table, except that instead of the CD-ROM speed, it contains the screen size (in inches) – screen. For each printer model in the Printer table, its output type (‘y’ for color and ‘n’ for monochrome) – color field, printing technology ('Laser', 'Jet', or 'Matrix') – type, and price are specified.

Схема данных

Fig. 1.1. Computer firm database schema

Additional information can be obtained from the logical database schema shown in Fig. 1.1. Each table containing data on products of a specific type (PCs, laptops, or printers) has a foreign key (model) referencing the Product table. The one-to-many relationship means that a model present in the Product table may be missing in the other tables. On the other hand, a model with the same number, even with identical technical characteristics may occur in these tables several times, since the code column represents the primary key here. The latter fact calls for additional explanation, since different people interpret the term model in different ways. Within the framework of this schema, a model is considered to comprise products with a uniform manufacturer and production technology. E.g., models having the same number may be equipped with storage devices that are technically identical but have different capacities, i.e., 60 and 80 GB. Among other things, this means that, say, two personal computers having identical model numbers yet different prices may be present in the PC table.

In terms of the subject area this schema may imply that the Product table holds information about all known suppliers of good types under consideration and models supplied by them, while the other tables contain models currently available (offered for sale). Therefore, it is quite possible there is a maker producing models none of which is in stock at the moment.

Bookmark and Share
Развернуть всё
Свернуть всё

Content:

Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
19:36
листать

База данных «Компьютерная фирма»

Схема БД состоит из четырех таблиц (рис.1.1):

  • Product(maker, model, type)
  • PC(code, model, speed, ram, hd, cd, price)
  • Laptop(code, model, speed, ram, hd, screen, price)
  • Printer(code, model, color, type, price)

Таблица Product представляет производителя (maker), номер модели (model) и тип (PC — ПК, Laptop — портативный компьютер или Printer — принтер). Предполагается, что в этой таблице номера моделей уникальны для всех производителей и типов продуктов. В таблице PC для каждого номера модели, обозначающего ПК, указаны скорость процессора — speed (МГерц), общий объем оперативной памяти - ram (Мбайт), размер диска — hd (в Гбайт), скорость считывающего устройства - cd (например, '4х') и цена — price. Таблица Laptop аналогична таблице РС за исключением того, что вместо скорости CD-привода содержит размер экрана — screen (в дюймах). В таблице Printer для каждой модели принтера указывается, является ли он цветным — color ('y', если цветной), тип принтера — type (лазерный — Laser, струйный — Jet или матричный — Matrix) и цена — price.  

Схема данных


Рис. 1.1. Схема базы данных «Компьютерная фирма»

Дополнительную информацию можно извлечь из представленной на рис. 1.1 логической схемы данных. Таблицы по типам продукции (ПК, портативные компьютеры и принтеры) содержат внешний ключ (model) к таблице Product. Связь «один-ко-многим» означает, что в каждой из этих таблиц может отсутствовать модель, имеющаяся в таблице Product. С другой стороны, модель с одним и тем же номером может встречаться в такой таблице несколько раз, причем даже с полностью идентичными техническими характеристиками, так как первичным ключом здесь является столбец code. Последнее требует пояснения, так как разные люди вкладывают в понятие модели разный смысл. В рамках данной схемы считается, что модель — это единство производителя и технологии. Например, одинаковые модели могут комплектоваться технологически идентичными накопителями, но разной емкости, скажем, 60 и 80 Гбайт. В частности, это означает, что допустимо присутствие в таблице PC двух ПК с одинаковыми номерами модели, но по разной цене.

На языке предметной области данная схема может означать, что в таблице Product содержится информация обо всех известных поставщиках рассматриваемой продукции и моделях, которые они поставляют, а в остальных таблицах находятся имеющиеся в наличии (или продаже) модели. Поэтому вполне возможна ситуация, когда имеется поставщик (maker) с моделями, ни одной из которых нет в наличии.

Bookmark and Share
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
вчера
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100