loading..
Русский    English
18:28

Exercise #(-2) (tips and solutions) page 1

When solving this exercise one typical mistake, which has place in the solution 3.6.2 also, is admitted by participants. But I'll just simplify the formulation for you not to loose pleasure to do this exercise on your own. So,

Find the year, in which the maximal number of ships had been launched. Result set: number of ships, year.

We can determine the distribution of ships' quantity by the years in such a way.

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT launched [year], COUNT(*) cnt
  2. FROM Ships
  3. GROUP BY launched;

Notes:

In  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server, names of columns can be bounded by square brackets ([]) to avoid ambiguity. For example, ambiguity arises at use of blanks in names when the first word could be interpreted as a name of a column, and the second - as its alias. Good practice is to avoid usage of blanks in names, however, their use for formation of report's headings is quite justified.

In our case ([year]) square brackets are applied in order to prevent messing with year() function which returns year from the argument of datetime data type.

Now we should leave from all the rows, returned by this query, only those that have maximal quantity (cnt), so that is:

  1. cnt >= ALL(SELECT COUNT(*) cnt
  2. FROM Ships
  3. GROUP BY launched
  4. )

Finally we get.

Solution 4.19.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM (SELECT launched [year], COUNT(*) cnt
  3. FROM Ships
  4. GROUP BY launched
  5. ) x
  6. WHERE cnt >= ALL(SELECT COUNT(*) cnt
  7. FROM Ships
  8. GROUP BY launched
  9. );

However, there's a mistake. This mistake is not associated with a formal scheme of solution. It's unquestioned. It usually happens when you solve exercises on the website, origin of the mistake is in the incorrect accounting of domain model's features, namely its constraints. Database schema of the exercise we are considering adopts a fact that there may be ships with an unknown year of launching in the database. This is firstly due to nullable of the launched column and, second, for a head ship, which is present only in Outcomes table, launch year is unknown also.

Building ships is not a rabbit breeding :-). Ships are being built for years. That's why if for a number of ships the launching year is unknown (NULL), then there's a high probability that the amount of such ships will be higher than the amount of ships launched in any real year. The feature of grouping lies in the fact (mentioned in Standard) that NULL values treat as equal. Hence, all ships with unknown launching year will be summarized with a year NULL. I suppose that the result shouldn't include this string, because the ‘unknown year' doesn't mean the ‘same year'. Certainly, it's disputable. However, all disputes will come to permissibility of using of a specific NULL value in relational model. Discussions about this are being carried on from the times of creation of this model by Codd E.F., whom the idea of NULL value belongs to. However, as far as I know, no deserving alternative was offered.

Returning to our task, in token of measureless respect to Codd I will change the solution in this way:


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
16:49
листать

Упражнение (-2) (подсказки и решения) стр. 1

При решении этой задачи часто допускается весьма характерная и, на наш взгляд, принципиальная ошибка, которая имеется и в решении 3.6.2. Однако, чтобы не приводить здесь окончательный вариант и позволить читателю самому его построить, объясним суть ошибки, упростив формулировку задачи:

Определить год, когда на воду было спущено максимальное количество кораблей. Вывод: количество кораблей, год

Определить распределение количества кораблей по годам можно так:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT launched [year], COUNT(*) cnt
  2. FROM Ships
  3. GROUP BY launched;

Примечание:

В  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server имена столбцов заключаются в квадратные скобки ([]), чтобы избежать неоднозначности. Например, неоднозначность возникает при использовании пробелов в именах, когда первое слово может быть истолковано как имя столбца, а второе — как его псевдоним (alias). Хорошим стилем признается отказ от пробелов в именах, однако, вполне оправданным является их употребление для формирования заголовков отчета.

В нашем случае ([year]) квадратные скобки применяются во избежание путаницы с функцией year(), которая возвращает год из аргумента, представленного типом дата-время.

Теперь нам нужно оставить из всех строк, возвращаемых этим запросом, только те, у которых количество (cnt) максимально, то есть:

  1. cnt >= ALL(SELECT COUNT(*) cnt
  2. FROM Ships
  3. GROUP BY launched
  4. )

Окончательно получим:

Решение 4.19.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT *
  2. FROM (SELECT launched [year], COUNT(*) cnt
  3. FROM Ships
  4. GROUP BY launched
  5. ) x
  6. WHERE cnt >= ALL(SELECT COUNT(*) cnt
  7. FROM Ships
  8. GROUP BY launched
  9. );

Тем не менее, здесь кроется ошибка. Эта ошибка не связана с формальным построением решения. Оно не вызывает сомнения. Как это обычно происходит при решении задач на сайте, ошибка заключается в неточном учете особенностей модели предметной области, а именно, ее ограничений. В данном случае допускается, что в базе данных могут быть корабли с неизвестным годом спуска на воду, так как, во-первых, столбец launched допускает NULL-значения и, во-вторых, для головного корабля, который присутствует только в таблице Outcomes, год спуска на воду неизвестен.

Строить корабли — это вам не кроликов разводить. Корабли строятся годами. Поэтому, если для ряда кораблей год спуска на воду неизвестен (NULL), то велика вероятность того, что число таких кораблей будет больше, чем количество кораблей, спущенных на воду в любом реальном году. Особенность группировки заключается в том (и это оговорено в стандарте), что NULL-значения трактуются как равные. Следовательно, все корабли с неизвестным годом спуска на воду, будут просуммированы с годом NULL. Полагаем, что результат не должен включать такую строку по той причине, что неизвестный год не означает один и тот же. С этим можно, конечно, поспорить. Однако все споры сведутся к допустимости использования специфического значения NULL в реляционной модели. Дискуссии по этому поводу ведутся со времен создания этой модели Коддом Е.Ф., которому и принадлежит идея NULL-значения. Однако, насколько нам известно, достойной альтернативы предложено не было.

Возвращаясь к нашей задаче, мы, в знак безграничного уважения к Кодду, внесем в решение следующее изменение:


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100