loading..
Русский    English
05:32

Exercise #8 (tips and solutions) page 2

On the example of this simple task, a great variety of solution approaches, owing to the flexibility of SQL, can be demonstrated.

Solution 4.4.4. Outer self-join  

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DISTINCT p.maker
  2. FROM Product p LEFT JOIN
  3. Product p1 ON p.maker = p1.maker AND
  4. p1.type = 'Laptop'
  5. WHERE p.type = 'PC' AND
  6.   p1.maker IS NULL;

The Product table is joined to itself using LEFT JOIN on the condition the maker is the same, and the product type for the second table is  laptop. The p1.maker column will be NULL if a manufacturer doesn’t have any laptop models; this is used in the WHERE clause together with the condition the product type for the record checked is PC.

Solution 4.4.5. Grouping

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT maker
  2. FROM (SELECT DISTINCT maker, type
  3. FROM Product
  4. WHERE type IN ('PC', 'Laptop')
  5. ) AS a
  6. GROUP BY maker
  7. HAVING COUNT(*) = 1 AND
  8.   MAX(type) = 'PC';

In the subquery, unique pairs (supplier, type) are selected with type being either PC or Laptop. Then, grouping by supplier is performed, whereby the rows grouped have to meet the following conditions:

  • COUNT(*) = 1 — which means, the maker has to manufacture only one product type of the selected (since printers have already been excluded by the IN predicate, it’s either PC or Laptop);
  • MAX(type) = 'PC' — this single manufactured product type is PC. Since the HAVING clause can’t contain columns not referred to by aggregate functions, it uses MAX (type); MIN(type) would work equally well.

With so many solution approaches, it’s natural to ask about their efficiency – that is, which query will be executed faster. Leading the field both in number of operations and estimated execution time is solution 4.4.5. The third solution has the weakest performance. Others are estimated to take about twice as much time to execute as the leader.

Notes:

In Management Studio (SQL Server), you can get the estimated execution time value and the query execution plan by first running the command SET SHOWPLAN_ALL ON; and then the queries to be analyzed. To return to normal mode, type SET SHOWPLAN_ALL OFF;

If  A database management system (DBMS) by Microsoft Corporation. SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server isn’t installed on your computer, you can get the query execution plan directly from the site.

Return to discussion of exercise #8

Solve this task at SQL-EX.RU

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME date_time functions DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates edge equi-join EXCEPT exercise (-2) More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.

loading..
Русский    English
02:20
листать

Упражнение 8 (подсказки и решения) стр. 2

На примере этой несложной задачи можно продемонстрировать многообразие решений, которое обусловлено гибкостью языка SQL.

Решение 4.4.4. Внешнее самосоединение

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DISTINCT p.maker
  2. FROM Product p LEFT JOIN
  3. Product p1 ON p.maker = p1.maker AND
  4. p1.type = 'Laptop'
  5. WHERE p.type = 'PC' AND
  6.   p1.maker IS NULL;

Левое соединение таблицы Product с собой при условии, что производитель один и тот же, а тип продукции из второй таблицы есть блокнот. Тогда в столбце p1.maker будет находиться NULL, если у поставщика нет моделей портативных компьютеров, что и используется в предикате предложения WHERE наряду с условием, что в той же строке типом продукции является ПК.

Решение 4.4.5. Группировка

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT maker
  2. FROM (SELECT DISTINCT maker, type
  3. FROM Product
  4. WHERE type IN ('PC', 'Laptop')
  5. ) AS a
  6. GROUP BY maker
  7. HAVING COUNT(*) = 1 AND
  8.   MAX(type) = 'PC';

В подзапросе выбираются уникальные пары {поставщик, тип}, если типом является ПК или портативный компьютер. Затем выполняется группировка по поставщику, при этом сгруппированные строки должны отвечать следующим условиям:

COUNT(*) = 1 — то есть поставщик должен выпускать только один тип продукции из оставшихся (поскольку мы уже отсекли принтеры, то остается либо ПК, либо портативный компьютер);

MAX(type) = 'PC' — этим типом продукции является ПК. Поскольку в предложении HAVING не могут присутствовать ссылки на столбцы без агрегатных функций, то используется MAX(type), хотя с тем же успехом можно было написать и MIN(type).

При таком обилии подходов естественен вопрос об эффективности, то есть какой из представленных запросов будет выполняться быстрее. Лидером здесь, как по числу операций, так и по оценке времени исполнения, является решение 4.4.5. Наихудшие показатели у третьего варианта. Остальные примерно в два раза по времени уступают лидеру.

Примечание:

Оценку времени, а также процедурный план выполнения запроса в текстовом представлении можно получить в Query Analyzer (SQL Server), выполнив сначала команду. SET SHOWPLAN_ALL ON; а затем выполняя интересующие нас запросы. Чтобы вернуться к обычному режиму выполнения запросов, нужно в том же подключении дать команду SET SHOWPLAN_ALL OFF;

Если у вас не установлен  Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server, вы можете получить план выполнения запроса непосредственно на сайте: http://www.sql-ex.ru/perfcon.php.

Вернуться к обсуждению упражнения 8

Решить задачу на SQL-EX.RU


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
https://exchangesumo.com/obmen/LVCNRUB-P24UAH/
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.