loading..
Русский    English
06:17

Renaming the columns and calculations in the result set page 1

The column names listed in the SELECT clause can be changed. This can be done to increase readability because the column names are frequently abbreviated to simplify typing. The AS keyword being used for renaming can be neglected in accordance with the standard, since it is implicitly implied.

For example, the following query

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ram AS Mb, hd Gb
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x';
renames the ram column as Mb (megabytes) and the hd column as Gb (gigabytes). This query will return the base memory amount and the hard drive storage on computers with a 24-speed CD-ROM:

Mb Gb
64 8
32 10

Renaming is especially desired when using value-calculation expressions in SELECT clause. These expressions give the data which may not be directly derived from database tables. An expression including the column names of the table contained in the FROM clause is calculated for each row of the result set. For example, RAM amount in kilobytes can be obtained when writing:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ram*1024 AS Kb, hd Gb
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x';

Now the following result will be obtained:

Kb Gb
65536 8
32768 10

Sometimes, an explanation needs to be placed along with the corresponding value. To make this, add string expression as complementary column. For example, the query

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ram, 'Mb' AS ram_units, hd, 'Gb' AS hd_units
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x';
gives the following result:

ram ram_units hd hd_units
64 Mb 8 Gb
32 Mb 10 Gb

Should the expression have no specified name, a default naming way will be used, dependable on DBMS used. For example, the names like expression1 and so on will be used in MS Access, while the column returned in MS  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server has no title at all.

Suggested exercises: 32

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2 3
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
09:40
листать

Переименование столбцов и вычисления в результирующем наборе стр. 1

Имена столбцов, указанные в предложении SELECT, можно переименовать. Это делает результаты более читабельными, поскольку имена полей в таблицах часто сокращают с целью упрощения набора. Ключевое слово AS, используемое для переименования, согласно стандарту можно и опустить, так как оно неявно подразумевается.

Например, запрос:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ram AS Mb, hd Gb
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x'

переименует столбец ram в Mb (мегабайты), а столбец hd в Gb (гигабайты). Этот запрос возвратит объемы оперативной памяти и жесткого диска для тех компьютеров, которые имеют 24-скоростной CD-ROM:

Mb Gb
64 8
32 10

Переименование особенно желательно при использовании в предложении SELECT выражений для вычисления значения. Эти выражения позволяют получать данные, которые не находятся непосредственно в таблицах. Если выражение содержит имена столбцов таблицы, указанной в предложении FROM, то выражение подсчитывается для каждой строки выходных данных. Так, например, чтобы вывести объем оперативной памяти в килобайтах, можно написать:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ram*1024 AS Kb, hd Gb
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x'

Теперь будет получен следующий результат:

Kb Gb
65536 8
32768 10

Иногда бывает необходимо выводить поясняющую информацию рядом с соответствующим значением. Это можно сделать, добавив строковое выражение как дополнительный столбец. Например, запрос:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ram, 'Mb' AS ram_units, hd, 'Gb' AS hd_units
  2. FROM PC
  3. WHERE cd = '24x'

даст следующий результат:

ram ram_units hd hd_units
64 Mb 8 Gb
32 Mb 10 Gb

Если же явно не указать имя для выражения, то будет принят способ именования по умолчанию, который зависит от используемой СУБД. Так, в MS Access будут использованы имена типа выражение1 и т. д., а выходной столбец в MS  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server вообще не будет иметь заголовка.

Рекомендуемые упражнения: 32

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2 3
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100