loading..
Русский    English
12:57

Once more about NULL values page 1

The meaning of the NULL value is an absence of information or inapplicability of the current attribute in the current tuple.

You can ask:”For what to have an attribute if its value is inapplicable?” The answer to this question lies in a field of modeling of the enterprise. Let's consider, for example, the database schema “Computers”. It represents the relational model of the association “type-supertype”. The models of computer production are the entries of the enterprise here; under this every type of production (PC, laptop or printer) represents an individual table with relations “many-to-one” with the Product table.

Such a model provides a high degree of normalization (3NF). However this is not the only way. We would have stored all information in one table, which could contain both mutual attributes for all models (for example, price) and attributes, which have sense only for models of certain types (for example, color – for printer defining). The NULL value is fully justified for this schema just in the meaning of an inapplicability of characteristic, that is NULL in the column color tells that this characteristic doesn't refer, let us say, to PC models.

Let's get back to the second aspect of null values – absence of information. If we decide to refuse the using of null values, we will have to offer an alternative. The natural way is using of the default value that will be substituted in the appropriate column under the absence of information. We should note that such default values should be at least so many as different data types that are supported by DBMS (integer, character strings, datetime, … ).

Let's consider, for example, the Laptop table and the price column. Let the enterprise to be so that at the moment of information input about the models of laptops their price is sometimes unknown. In choosing the default value we should be bounded by permissible values for the price column. Data type for the column (money) makes us to be bounded by numerical values, compatible with current type and domain constraints (constraint of the CHECK type), imposed on permissible values for this column. Any positive value as a default value will cause a confusion, because it is impossible to differ “true” value of price from the substitution of the absent price. That is why we should choose zero or any negative value. And now let's speak about disadvantages of such a substitute.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
23:36
листать

Еще раз о NULL-значениях стр. 1

Смысл NULL-значения — это отсутствие информации или неприменимость данного атрибута в данном кортеже.

Можно спросить: «Зачем иметь атрибут, если его значение неприменимо?». Ответ лежит в области моделирования предметной области. Рассмотрим, например, схему базы данных «Компьютеры». Она представляет собой реляционную модель связи «тип-супертип». Сущностями предметной области здесь являются модели компьютерной продукции (супертип), при этом каждый тип продукции (ПК, портативный компьютер или принтер) отображается в отдельную таблицу со связями «многие к одному» с таблицей Product.

Такая модель обеспечивает высокую степень нормализации (3НФ). Однако это не единственный способ. Можно было бы хранить всю информацию в одной таблице, которая содержала бы как общие для всех моделей атрибуты (например, цена — price), так и атрибуты, которые имеют смысл только для моделей определенного типа (например, цвет — color — для характеристики принтеров). Для такой схемы NULL-значение является вполне оправданным именно в смысле неприменимости характеристики, то есть NULL в столбце color, будет говорить нам о том, что эта характеристика не имеет отношения, скажем, к моделям ПК.

Обратимся теперь ко второй ипостаси NULL-значений — отсутствию информации. Если мы решим отказаться от использования NULL-значений, то должны предложить альтернативу. Естественным путем является применение значения по умолчанию, которое будет подставлено в соответствующий столбец при отсутствии информации. Следует заметить, что таких значений по умолчанию должно быть, по меньшей мере, столько, сколько различных типов данных поддерживается СУБД (целые, строки, дата-время, …).

Рассмотрим, например, таблицу Laptop и поле price (цена). Пусть предметная область такова, что на момент ввода информации о моделях портативных компьютеров их цена не всегда известна. При выборе значения по умолчанию мы должны ограничиться только значениями, допустимыми для поля price. Тип данных для столбца (money) заставляет нас выбирать только из числовых значений, совместимых с данным типом и проверочными ограничениями (ограничение типа CHECK), наложенными на допустимые значения для этого столбца. Любое положительное значение в качестве значения по умолчанию будет вызывать путаницу, так как невозможно будет отличить «истинное» значение цены от заменителя отсутствующей цены. Поэтому следует выбрать нуль или любое отрицательное значение. А теперь поговорим о том, чем плоха такая замена.


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100