loading..
Русский    English
14:19

About implicit conversion of SQL Server data types page 1

Besides data type in the relational theory the fundamental concept of the domain, as sets of allowable values which can have an attribute. It is possible to tell, that the domain represents a pair {base data type, a predicate}.Thus value belongs to the domain only in the event that it has corresponding type and a predicate calculated on this value, there is a TRUE. Attributes (columns of a table) are defined on the domain that is to say besides the control of types DBMS over each change of the data should check also value of a predicate. Change will be rejected, if kept value does not satisfy to a predicate of the domain.

The domain plays one more important role more precisely the values belonging to one domain can be compared only. Let's consider as an example PC table, namely, columns speed (clock frequency of the processor) and hd (volume of a hard disk). Both these of a columns have integer (or smallint) data type. However it is completely different characteristics. It is enough to tell, that in a subject domain for them different units of measurements - hertz and byte are used. And so, if we shall define these columns on different domains comparison of value of one column with value of other column becomes inadmissible. And it will be supervised DBMS. By analogy with categores and reference integrity such control could be named domain integrity if this term has not been occupied in  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server under check of CHECK constraint imposed on columns of the table. And so determined "domain integrity" in any way does not limit comparison.

Not superfluous will remind of importance of maintenance of integrity on side DBMS. Restrictions of integrity, as a rule, model the restrictions real-life in a subject domain. As these restrictions do not depend on appendices, it is natural to check them (and to write) in a place, the common for all appendices which is DBMS. It besides other:

  • Relieves appendices of necessity to build (and to duplicate!) in them necessary checks;

  • Guarantees higher level of safety. The restrictions which have been built - in the appendices, it is easy to bypass. To address to a database passing the application enough;

  • Facilitates support and development. If restrictions of a subject domain will change, corresponding program changes will need to be made in one place, instead of in all applications working with a database.

Coming back to domains, pertinently to notice, as language standard SQL-92 does not put in concept of the domain of sense of "comparability". That is realized by the standard, no more than an opportunity once to write down restrictions, and then repeatedly to apply them at definition of specifications columns, that is an opportunity to avoid duplications of codes.

In a chain "Theory --> Standard --> Realization" is consistently lost severity of the relational theory therefore we not can is quite transparent to cooperate with relational DBMS different producers. Here I want to show a small example of how it is necessary to address with data types in SQL Server. 


Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
13:54
листать

О неявном преобразовании типов в SQL Server стр. 1

Помимо типов данных в реляционной теории вводится фундаментальное понятие домена, как множества допустимых значений, которое может иметь атрибут. Можно сказать, что домен представляет собой пару {базовый тип данных, предикат}. При этом значение принадлежит домену только в том случае, если оно имеет соответствующий тип и предикат, вычисленный на этом значении, есть ИСТИНА. Атрибуты (столбцы таблицы) определяются на домене, то есть помимо контроля типов СУБД при каждом изменении данных должна проверять также значение предиката. Изменение будет отклонено, если сохраняемое значение не удовлетворяет предикату домена.

Домен играет еще одну важную роль, а именно, сравниваться могут только значения, принадлежащие одному домену. Рассмотрим в качестве примера таблицу PC, а именно, столбцы speed (тактовая частота процессора) и hd (объем жесткого диска). Оба эти столбца имеют тип integer (или smallint). Однако это совершенно разные характеристики. Достаточно сказать, что в предметной области для них используются разные единицы измерения — герцы и байты соответственно. Так вот, если мы определим эти столбцы на разных доменах, то сравнение значения одного столбца со значением другого станет недопустимым. Причем контролироваться это будет СУБД. По аналогии с категорной и ссылочной целостностью такой контроль можно было бы назвать доменной целостностью, если бы этот термин не был занят в  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server под проверку ограничения CHECK, наложенного на столбцы таблицы. А так определенная «доменная целостность» никак не ограничивает сравнения.

Не лишним будет напомнить о важности поддержания целостности на стороне СУБД. Ограничения целостности, как правило, моделируют ограничения, реально существующие в предметной области. Поскольку эти ограничения не зависят от приложений, естественно их проверять (и писать) в том месте, которое является общим для всех приложений, а именно, на стороне СУБД. Это помимо прочего:

  • избавляет приложения от необходимости встраивать (и дублировать!) в них необходимые проверки;
  • дает более высокий уровень безопасности; ограничения, встроенные в приложения, легко обойти — достаточно обратиться к базе данных, минуя приложение;
  • если ограничения предметной области изменятся, то соответствующие программные изменения нужно будет сделать в одном месте, а не во всех приложениях, работающих с базой данных.

Возвращаясь к доменам, уместно заметить, что и стандарт языка SQL-92 не вкладывает в понятие домена смысла «сравнимости». То, что реализовано стандартом, не более чем возможность один раз записать ограничения, а затем неоднократно применять их при определении спецификаций столбцов, то есть дает возможность избежать дублирования кодов.

В цепочке «Теория > Стандарт > Реализация» последовательно теряется строгость реляционной теории, в результате чего мы не можем вполне прозрачно взаимодействовать с реляционными СУБД разных производителей. Здесь мы хотим показать небольшой пример того, как следует обращаться с типами в SQL Server.


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100