loading..
Русский    English
19:25

Exercise #54 page 1

To within two decimal digits, define the average amount of guns for all the battleships (taking into account Outcomes table).

Solution 3.10.1

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ROUND(SUM(ng)/SUM(cnt), 2) res
  2. FROM (SELECT SUM(numGuns) ng, COUNT(*) cnt
  3. FROM Classes c,Ships s
  4. WHERE c.class = s.class AND
  5. c.type = 'bb'
  6. UNION ALL
  7. SELECT SUM(numGuns) ng, COUNT(*) cnt
  8. FROM Classes c, Outcomes o
  9. WHERE c.class = o.ship AND
  10. c.type = 'BB'AND
  11. NOT EXISTS (SELECT name FROM Ships s
  12. WHERE s.name = o.ship)
  13. ) x;

In this solution an attempt has been made to calculate the average manually, as the sum of values divided by their quantity. However, the peculiar feature of aruthmetic operations in  SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL lies in the fact that the result is always cast to the type of the argument. Since the quantity of guns is a whole number (the numGuns column is of INTEGER type), the fractional part of a number derived from division is simply discarded, which trivially yields the wrong result.

Attention:

The use of AVG function for calculatiing the average does not change the situation, because casting is done by the same rules. It can be easily checked by running the query

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT AVG(3/2);
which gives 1 rather than 2, should the rounding be completed.

If you are going to run similar queries on the web site, please, tick off the flag 'run without checking' in the exercise page, lest the system should carry out an unnecessary matching of the result with the reference solution for the specific exercise.

To obtain an "accurate" result of division of the whole numbers, one should cast operands (at least one of them) to a decimal. It can be done with the CAST function or through multiplication by the decimal unity, and it is what we are going to do:

  1. SELECT SUM(numGuns*1.0) ng

Now let us talk about rounding which employs the  T-SQL (Transact-SQL) is Microsoft`s and Sybase`s proprietary procedural extension to SQL.T-SQL ROUND function. Again, we turn our attention to a simple example (rounding to two digits after the decimal point):

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT ROUND(AVG(5.0/3),2);
which yields 1.670000 by way of result. That is, rounding is done correctly, but insignificant zeroes are preserved, which number corresponds to the number of significant digits used by default for the representation of the decimals. This number, naturally, depends upon which software is installed; so, in this case we are speaking about SQL Server. Here it would be appropriate to note that, when comparing the result with the "correct" solution, values 1.67 and 1.670000 will be considered as different. Therefore one should aslo take care of deleting the zeroes. Let us postpone this problem till the analysis of the next solution, because there this problem, as well as the rounding one, are solved correctly. There we'll also have a good look at a logical error which the solution 3.10.1 harbors.

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONSTRAINT CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 More tags
The book was updated
several days ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
23:41
листать

Упражнение 54 стр. 1

С точностью до двух десятичных знаков определите среднее число орудий всех линейных кораблей (учесть корабли из таблицы Outcomes).

Решение 3.10.1

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ROUND(SUM(ng)/SUM(cnt), 2) res
  2. FROM (SELECT SUM(numGuns) ng, COUNT(*) cnt
  3. FROM Classes c,Ships s
  4. WHERE c.class = s.class AND
  5. c.type = 'bb'
  6. UNION ALL
  7. SELECT SUM(numGuns) ng, COUNT(*) cnt
  8. FROM Classes c, Outcomes o
  9. WHERE c.class = o.ship AND
  10. c.type = 'BB'AND
  11. NOT EXISTS (SELECT name FROM Ships s
  12. WHERE s.name = o.ship)
  13. ) x;

В этом решении сделана попытка вручную посчитать среднее как сумму значений, деленную на их количество. Однако специфика арифметических операций в  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server состоит в том, что результат всегда приводится к типу аргумента. Поскольку число орудий — целое число (тип INTEGER для столбца numGuns), то дробная часть числа, полученного при делении, будет попросту отбрасываться, что заведомо даст неправильный результат.

Внимание:

Использование функции AVG для вычисления среднего не меняет ситуацию, так как приведение типа проводится по тем же правилам. Это легко проверить, если выполнить запрос

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT AVG(3/2);
который даст 1, а не 2, если бы выполнялось округление.

Если вы будете выполнять аналогичные запросы на сайте, поставьте флажок «Без проверки» на странице с упражнениями, чтобы система не выполняла бесполезного сравнения результата с эталонным решением соответствующего упражнения.

Для получения «точного» результата деления целых чисел нужно привести операнд (хотя бы один) к вещественному типу. Это можно сделать с помощью функции приведения типа CAST или простым умножением на вещественную единицу, как мы и поступим:

  1. SELECT SUM(numGuns*1.0) ng;

Теперь поговорим об округлении, которое использует функцию  T-SQL (Transact-SQL) — процедурное расширение языка SQL, используемое для программирования на стороне сервера в Microsoft SQL Server и Sybase ASE.T-SQL ROUND. Опять обратимся к простому примеру (округление до двух цифр после десятичной точки):

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT ROUND(AVG(5.0/3),2);
который даст нам 1.670000 в качестве результата. То есть округление выполнено правильно, но сохранены незначащие нули, количество которых соответствует числу значащих цифр, используемых по умолчанию для представления вещественного числа. Это число, естественно, зависит от реализации, поэтому в данном случае мы говорим лишь об SQL Server. Здесь уместно заметить, что при сравнении результатов с «правильным» решением значения 1.67 и 1.670000 будут считаться разными. Поэтому нужно позаботиться еще и об удалении этих нулей. Отложим этот вопрос до анализа следующего решения, так как там эта проблема, как и проблема округления, решена верно. Там же мы рассмотрим и логическую ошибку, которую содержит решение 3.10.1.


Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX MIN MONTH MySQL NOT Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
месяц назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100