loading..
Русский    English
03:12

DATEDIFF function page 1

Syntax:

  1. DATEDIFF(datepart, startdate, enddate)

The function returns the interval of date and time elapsed between two specified dates - startdate and enddate. This interval may be meassured in different units. Available values of the argument datepart listed above for the DATEADD function.

Example 7.1.2

Find the number of days elapsed between the first and the last flights executed.

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, (SELECT MIN(date)
  2. FROM pass_in_trip
  3. ),
  4. (SELECT MAX(date)
  5. FROM pass_in_trip
  6. )
  7. );

Example 7.1.3

Find the duration in minutes of the flight for the trip no. 1123.

It should be noted that the departure time (time_out) and the landing time (time_in) are stored in the columns of datetime type in the Trip table. Note,  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. SQL(Structured Query Language) is a database computer language designed for the retrieval and management of data in relational database management systems (RDBMS), database schema creation and modification, and database object access control management.SQL Server up to version 2005 had not temporal data types for storing the date or time separately. Because of this, when inserting only the time in the datetime column (for example, UPDATE trip SET time_out = '17:24:00' WHERE trip_no=1123), the time will be supplemented by the default date value ('1900-01-01').

The simple solution

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(mi, time_out, time_in) dur
  2. FROM trip
  3. WHERE trip_no = 1123;
(which gives -760) will be incorrect for two reasons.

Firstly, the value obtained in such manner will be incorrect for the trips that depart in one day and land in another one. Secondly, it is unreliably to make any suggestions on a day that is only presented of necessity to correspond to datetime data type.How can we know that a plane lands in the next day? This knowledge comes from the subject area, which says the flight cannot be over 24 hours. So, if the landing time not more than the departure time, this is the case.

The second question: how do we calculate only the time apart from the day?

The   T-SQL (Transact-SQL) is Microsoft`s and Sybase`s proprietary procedural extension to SQL.T-SQL DATEPART function could help here; we'll talk about it in the following chapter.

There is one feature of implementation of DATEDIFF function you should take into account. We'll begin with examples. First we'll count number of weeks since Sunday 10-23-2005 till Saturday 10-29-2005. So,

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF (wk, '20051023 00:00:00', '20051029 23:59:59');

The common sense tells us that this is a full week, however the above query gives 0. Now we shall take an interval since Saturday 29-10-2005 till Sunday 30-10-2005:

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(wk, '20051029', '20051030');

As a result we shall receive 1, i.e. one week. It is a time to give an explanation. The answer is in the DATEDIFF functionality that actually considers week as not a number of days, but as a number of transitions since Saturday on Sunday. If one keeps in mind this fact, then even the more surprising example will be clear :

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(wk, '20051029 23:59:00', '20051030 00:01:00');
which too gives unity!

Is it strange? Probably, but, as they say, who is notified - is armed. The same takes place and for other intervals. For example, the quantity of days gives us not a number of hours, divided by 24 (quantity of hours per day), but a number of transitions over midnight. Do you want acknowledgement? Please

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, '20051029 23:59:00', '20051030 00:01:00');

As a result we receive one day. At the same time

Console
Execute
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, '20051029 00:00:00', '20051029 23:59:59');
gives us 0.

If you want, you can continue experiments with other time intervals. Use our Console for that.

Suggested exercises: 76, 93

Bookmark and Share
Pages 1 2
Tags
aggregate functions Airport ALL AND AS keyword ASCII AVG Battles Bezhaev Bismarck C.J.Date calculated columns Cartesian product CASE cast CHAR CHARINDEX Chebykin check constraint classes COALESCE common table expressions comparison predicates Computer firm CONVERT correlated subqueries COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE data type conversion data types database schema date/time functions DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DEFAULT VALUES DELETE DISTINCT DML duplicates EXCEPT exercise (-2) exercise 19 exercise 23 exercise 32 More tags
The book was updated
month ago
©SQL-EX,2008 [Evolution] [Feedback] [About] [Links] [Team]
All right reserved.
Rambler's Top100

loading..
Русский    English
13:16
листать

Функция DATEDIFF стр. 1

Синтаксис:

  1. DATEDIFF(datepart, startdate, enddate)

Функция возвращает интервал времени, прошедшего между двумя временными отметками — startdate (начальная отметка) и enddate (конечная отметка). Этот интервал может быть измерен в разных единицах. Возможные варианты определяются аргументом datepart и перечислены выше применительно к функции DATEADD.

Пример 7.1.2

Определить количество дней, прошедших между первым и последним совершенными рейсами.

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, (SELECT MIN(date)
  2. FROM pass_in_trip
  3. ),
  4. (SELECT MAX(date)
  5. FROM pass_in_trip
  6. )
  7. );

Пример 7.1.3

Определить продолжительность рейса 1123 в минутах.

Здесь следует принять во внимание, что время вылета (time_out) и время прилета (time_in) хранится в полях типа datetime таблицы Trip. Как уже отмечалось,  Cистема управления реляционными базами данных (СУБД), разработанная корпорацией Microsoft. Язык структурированных запросов) — универсальный компьютерный язык, применяемый для создания, модификации и управления данными в реляционных базах данных. SQL Server вплоть до версии 2005 не имел отдельных темпоральных типов данных для даты и времени. Поэтому при вставке в поле datetime только времени (например, UPDATE trip SET time_out = ’17:24:00’ WHERE trip_no = 1123), время будет дополнено значением даты по умолчанию (1900-01-01), являющейся начальной точкой отсчета времени.

Напрашивающееся решение

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(mi, time_out, time_in) dur
  2. FROM trip
  3. WHERE trip_no = 1123;
(которое дает 760 минут) будет неверным по двум причинам.

Во-первых, для рейсов, которые вылетают в один день, а прилетают на следующий, вычисленное таким способом значение будет неправильным;

Во-вторых, ненадежно делать какие либо предположения относительно дня, который присутствует только в силу необходимости соответствовать типу datetime.

Но как определить, что самолет приземлился на следующий день? Тут помогает описание предметной области, где говорится, что полет не может продолжаться более суток. Итак, если время прилета не больше, чем время вылета, то этот факт имеет место.

Теперь второй вопрос: как посчитать только время, с каким бы днем оно ни стояло?

Здесь может помочь функция  T-SQL (Transact-SQL) — процедурное расширение языка SQL, используемое для программирования на стороне сервера в Microsoft SQL Server и Sybase ASE.T-SQL DATEPART, речь о которой пойдет в следующем пункте.

Следует иметь в виду одну особенность использования функции DATEDIFF. Начнем с примеров. Сначала посчитаем число недель с воскресенья 23-10-2005 до субботы 29-10-2005. Итак,

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(wk, '20051023', '20051029');

Здравый смысл подсказывает, что это полная неделя, однако, вышеприведенный запрос дает 0. Теперь возьмем интервал с субботы 29-10-2005 до воскресенья 30-10-2005:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(wk, '20051029', '20051030');

В результате получим 1, то есть одну неделю. Пора дать объяснения. Дело в том, что функция DATEDIFF фактически считает неделей не число дней, а число переходов с субботы на воскресенье. Если это иметь в виду, то тогда становится понятным еще более удивительный пример:

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(wk, '20051029 23:59:00', '20051030 00:01:00');
который тоже дает единицу!

Странно? Возможно, но, как говорится, кто предупрежден, тот вооружен. То же самое имеет место и для других интервалов. Например, количество дней дает нам не число часов, деленное нацело на 24 (количество часов в сутках), а число переходов через полночь. Хотите подтверждения? Пожалуйста

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, '20051029 23:59:00', '20051030 00:01:00');

В результате получаем один день, в то же время

Консоль
Выполнить
  1. SELECT DATEDIFF(dd, '20051029 00:00:00', '20051029 23:59:59');
дает нам 0.

Если хотите, можете продолжить эксперименты с другими временными интервалами. Вы можете воспользоваться для этого предоставляемой Консолью.

Рекомендуемые упражнения: 76, 93

Bookmark and Share
Страницы: 1 2
Тэги:
ALL AND AUTO_INCREMENT AVG battles CASE CAST CHAR CHARINDEX CHECK classes COALESCE CONSTRAINT Convert COUNT CROSS APPLY CTE DATEADD DATEDIFF DATENAME DATEPART DATETIME DDL DEFAULT DELETE DISTINCT DML EXCEPT EXISTS EXTRACT FOREIGN KEY FROM FULL JOIN GROUP BY Guadalcanal HAVING IDENTITY IN INNER JOIN insert INTERSECT IS NOT NULL IS NULL ISNULL laptop LEFT LEFT OUTER JOIN LEN maker MAX Больше тэгов
Учебник обновлялся
несколько дней назад
©SQL-EX,2008 [Развитие] [Связь] [О проекте] [Ссылки] [Team]
Перепечатка материалов сайта возможна только с разрешения автора.
Rambler's Top100